Newbie - Handling with git - app.update - app.contribute

Hello Guys,
this is my first project with git - and I am struggling to use it right.

what I understand is…

pull (app.update) works this way superalgos/superalgos → mARTin-B78/superalgos → local machine

push (app.contribute) works this way local machine → mARTin-B78/superalgos → superalgos/superalgos

superalgos/superalgos is the main project

from there you make a fork to your own git account (mARTin-B78/superalgos)

you install superalgos using your own fork and set the upstream to the main project.
git remote add upstream https:/ /github.com/Superalgos/Superalgos

now you pull the upstream which shall set your fork in sync with the main project
git fetch upstream

when you run superalgos you type in
app.update in the Docs Search and Command line to keep it all sync.

and when you are done editing you push with the command app.contribute
which should send the edits from your local machine to your git fork (mARTin-B78/superalgos)
that is then pushed to the main project (superalgos/superalgos)

right?

but then… I have everything in sync (app.update → “The update process run successfully but no changes were made since your installation is up-to-date with the current branch. No further action required.” )
still when I run app.contribute I get the Error

I did
git checkout develop
git reset --hard upstream/develop
git push origin develop --force
that solves the issue but then I loose all the Translations I did before…

1 Like

You are definitely on the right path! Here is a rough guide for understanding Git and how to approach working with it. Let me know what still doesn’t make sense and we will get this refined so we can roll it into the docs and maybe even put a medium article out.

Wrangling Git and GitHub in Superalgos

Too help keep everything straight it is important to know that you basically have three separate git repositories you are working with.

The first two live on Github.com: